Chicken Pesto Quesadillas

I’ve made a new goal for myself: Cook with more vegetables! So, the secret ingredient in this dinner classic? Rainbow swiss chard. A friend of mine introduced me to it the other day, taught me how to prepare it, and I was in love. Any way to sneak in veggies to a meal is okay in my book.

I should also mention that I made the pesto from scratch. Of course, I had no idea what I was doing and ending up totally winging it, but guess what? It came out wonderfully! So, if you’ve never made it before, like me, don’t you worry. You’d be amazed at what you and your food processor can cook up together. See the pesto recipe here.

What you’ll need:

2 soft tortillas (I used Chi-Chi’s whole wheat tortillas)

4-5 leaves of rainbow swiss chard (spinach or kale works too)

1 medium-sized clove of garlic

Monterey Jack & white cheddar cheese

Chicken (I used pre-cooked, pre-marinated Purdue chicken)

To prepare the swiss chard:

Mince the garlic and place it with a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a saucepan, on low heat. Rinse the leaves of swiss chard and rip the leaves from the stems, ripping them into bite-sized pieces. Once the garlic is slightly transparent, place the swiss chard into the pan. Use tongs to toss them around until they boil down to a bright green, spinach-like consistency (you can see what mine looked like in the picture below). If the leaves are too oily for you’re taste, just dump them out onto a few paper towels to soak up any excess oil.

To make the Quesadilla:

Lay out a tortilla (I used whole wheat), and layer on the ingredients as you like! Start with a layer of pesto, then pieces of monterey jack, cheddar, and chicken. Spread the pieces of swiss chard on top, place the tortilla in the pan, with the second tortilla on top, and cook it until the cheese is melted (on low heat, so the tortilla doesn’t burn!) If you’re feeling confident with the spatula, flip it to get both sides to be golden brown.

Slice it up & dig in!

Leave a Reply

